Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Perkowski, Bowles and Pickering Named 2018 LEC Women’s Cross Country Major Award Recipients

2018 women' cross country major awards

PAWTUCKET, R.I. – The Little East Conference (LEC) announced its 2018 women's cross country major award winners Thursday following a vote of the league's head coaches. Keene State College junior Lauren Perkowski (Plantsville, Conn.) was named the LEC Runner of the Year, while Plymouth State University freshman Kim Bowles (Wonalancet, N.H.) was named the LEC Rookie Runner of the Year. Keene State head coach Tom Pickering was named LEC Coach of the Year.

Perkowski was named the LEC Runner of the Year after winning five events through the LEC Championship, which she won with a time of 19:23.9 as the Owls won the 2018 conference championship. She also won a pair of home meets, as well as invitationals hosted by Bowdoin College and Smith College. Perkowski is the eighth Keene State student-athlete to be named LEC Runner of the Year.

Bowles became the first Panther to be named the LEC Rookie Runner of the Year after being Plymouth State's top performer in five of her six races so far this season. She led PSU with a 13th-place finish at the LEC Championship with a time of 20:59.4, and was the league's top rookie performer five times in 2018.

Now in his fourth season leading the program, Pickering was named LEC Coach of the Year for the third time after guiding the Owls to their third Little East Championship under his leadership. It was the 18th team championship in program history, each of which has been won in the last 19 years.