Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Top-Seeded Eastern Connecticut Wins 2018 LEC Women’s Volleyball Tournament Title, First Since 2007

2018 volleyball champs

WILLIMANTIC, Conn. – The top-seeded Eastern Connecticut State University women's volleyball team captured its first Little East Conference Championship Tournament title since 2007 following a 3-1 win over third-seeded Keene State College Saturday evening at Geissler Gymnasium, and with it the LEC's automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament. This is the seventh LEC title win in the program's history.

Freshman Anna Barry (Andover, Conn.) was named the 2018 LEC Women's Volleyball Championship Tournament Most Outstanding Player after totaling 28 kills and hitting .533 in the Warriors' two tournament matches. She had 14 kills in each match.

The two teams exchanged 25-19 wins in the first two sets before Eastern Connecticut (23-6) used a 25-18 win in the third to go up 2-1 in the match. The Warriors fell behind early in the fourth before going on a seven-point run that built a 14-11 lead on their way to a 25-21 win to clinch the title.

Eastern Connecticut Sophomore Abby Stern (Manchester, Conn.) tallied a match-high 22 kills to go with 12 digs, while classmate Alaetra Long (Lincoln, Neb.) posted a double-double with 11 kills and 15 digs. Freshman Madison Bell (Salem, Conn.) notched a match-high 28 digs, while the tandem of senior Leah Sopneski (Deep River, Conn.) and junior Mckenzie Maneggia (Andover, Conn.) combined for 52 assists.

Sophomore Megan Palmer (East Islip, N.Y.) registered a double-double with 17 kills and 17 digs to lead Keene State (22-10), while junior Oliva Mathieu (Derry, N.H.) fell just shy of a double-double with 11 kills and eight digs. Senior Riley Bunker (Simi Valley, Calif.), while sophomore Bailey Wilson (Moorpark, Calif.) handed out 41 assists with nine digs.

Eastern Connecticut will await the announcement of the NCAA tournament field to learn its next opponent and date of competition. The live selection show will air on Monday, November 5 at 12:30 p.m.