Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2017 Little East All-Conference Women’s Soccer Teams Announced

2017 Little East All-Conference Women’s Soccer Teams Announced

PAWTUCKET, R.I. - The Little East Conference (LEC) announced its 2017 All-Conference Women's Soccer Team and major award winners Wednesday following a vote of the league's head coaches. Western Connecticut State University senior Autumn Sorice (Bethel, Conn.) was named the 2017 Offensive Player of the Year, while head coach Alex Harrison was named 2017 Coach of the Year. Keene State College sophomore Nicole De Almeida (Nashua, N.H.) is the 2017 Defensive Player of the Year, and Plymouth State University freshman Mallory Lloyd (Hartland, Vt.) is the 2017 Rookie of the Year.

Sorice is the third player in conference history to be named LEC Offensive Player of the Year in three consecutive years. Former Colonial Catherine Nathans (2006-08) was the first, while UMass Boston's Krista Ledin (2012-14) was the most recent to accomplish that feat.

Sorice, who was also named a first-team all-conference selection for the third straight year, leads the conference in goals (16), assists (9) and points (41) this season while leading Western Connecticut to the 2017 LEC regular season and tournament championships. She was named the 2017 LEC Championship Tournament Most Outstanding Player after scoring two goals, both of which were in the Colonials' 2-1 double-overtime LEC championship game victory, and assisting on another.

De Almeida, who was additionally named a first-team all-conference selection for the second straight season after leading a defense that allowed eight goals over seven conference games and totaled five shutouts for the season. The 2016 LEC Rookie of the Year is the fourth Owl to be named Defensive Player of the Year

Lloyd started in 15 of her 16 games played in 2017 and finished her rookie campaign ranked second in the league in scoring with 12 goals and 31 total points; her seven assists were third-most in the league. She was also named a first-team all-conference selection, and is the third Panther to be named Rookie of the Year.

Harrsion, who is in his season year leading the Western Connecticut program, was named LEC Coach of the Year for the first time after guiding the Colonials to their third straight LEC tournament title. To-date, WestConn is a near-perfect 17-1-2 for the season, which included a 6-0-1 mark in LEC games, giving the Colonials a share of the LEC regular season title.

2017 LEC Women's Soccer All-Conference Team
Offensive Player of the Year Autumn Sorice, Western Conn. St.  
Defensive Player of the Year Nicole De Almeida, Keene St.  
Rookie of the Year Mallory Lloyd, Plymouth St.  
Coach of the Year Alex Harrison, Western Connecticut  
First-Team All-Conference
Position Name School Hometown
F Autumn Sorice Western Connecticut Bethel, Conn.
F Mallory Lloyd Plymouth State Hartland, Vt.
F Aly Clarke Eastern Connecticut Mystic, Conn.
M Andrea Devoe Western Connecticut Farmington, Conn.
M McKenzie Reimondo Eastern Connecticut Portland, Conn.
M Patricia Norton Keene State Hampton, Conn.
M Brooke Hellman Western Connecticut Newington, Conn.
D Nicole De Almeida Keene State Nashua, N.H.
D Krista Petersen Eastern Connecticut Wallingford, Conn.
D Lucy Daniels Western Connecticut Bethel, Conn.
D Tori Laires Keene State Ludlow, Mass.
GK Jillian Fernandez Western Connecticut Columbia, Conn.
Second-Team All-Conference
Position Name School Hometown
F Brittany DeGrooth Rhode Island College Westerly, R.I.
F Katie Silegy Keene State Keene, N.H.
F Taylor Farland Keene State Fiskdale, Mass.
M Jessi Beverlin UMass Boston Eagle River, Alaska
M Julia Pearson Keene State Harwinton, Conn.
M Kate Martin Plymouth State Westmoreland, N.H.
M Linnea Reich Eastern Connecticut Middletown, Conn.
D Jasmine Grey Western Connecticut Naugatuck, Conn.
D Jaclyn O'Grady UMass Boston Somers, Conn.
D Michele D'Agata Eastern Connecticut West Suffield, Conn.
D Hannah Goodale Eastern Connecticut Coventry, Conn.
GK Kayla Labrecque Eastern Connecticut Westhampton, Mass.