Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Little East Announces 2016 Women’s Lacrosse All-Conference & Major Awards

Little East Announces 2016 Women’s Lacrosse All-Conference & Major Awards


PAWTUCKET, R.I. –UMass-Dartmouth's Colleen Kane leads a pack of Eastern Connecticut State Warriors as the Little East announced its All-Conference as Major Awards as voted on by the league's head coaches.

Colleen Kane (Sr., Arlington, Mass.), was named the LEC Offensive Player of the Year. Kane lead the Corsairs and the LEC with 64 total goals this season and finished second in total points behind Taylor Graf. Kane led the LEC in total shots with 148 to go along with 14 assists. She was also a defensive presence with 26 ground balls and 48 draw controls.

The Warriors from Eastern Connecticut State won the co-regular season championship for the first time since 2011 behind the leadership from the 2016 LEC Coach of the Year, head coach Christine Hutchison (10th season). Hutchison guided the Warriors to an 11-6 overall record and 5-1 LEC record. The Warriors were led by a pair of junior standouts Paige Schneider and Devyne Doran.

Paige Schneider (Jr., East Lyme, Conn.) was named the 2016 LEC Midfielder of the Year. Schneider finished second behind Kane with 57 total goals and finished in the top-10 with 64 total points. Schneider started all 15 games for the Warriors and also accumulated 40 ground balls (10th), 17 draw controls and caused 9 turnovers.

Devyne Doran (Jr., South Kingston, R.I.), was named the LEC Defensive Player of the Year. Doran played a huge role on the field for the Warriors with her aggressiveness and ability to keep the energy of the team going throughout the entire game. Doran had 48 ground balls (4th in LEC), 50 draw controls (5th in LEC) and tallied 31 caused turnovers for third best in the Little East. Doran also found the net 9 times and assisted on three others as the Warriors finished atop of the 2016 LEC standings.

Joining the Eastern Connecticut teammates, Michelina Pinto (Fr., Groton, Conn.) made a name for herself as a freshman for the Warriors, earning her the 2016 LEC Rookie of the Year award. Pinto finished her 2016 campaign with 36 goals (9th in LEC) with a top-5 shooting percentage (63.2%). Pinto also assisted on 11 goals, managed 45 draw controls (9th in LEC) and 16 caused turnovers on her way to becoming the Little East's top rookie.


2016 Little East Women's Lacrosse All- Conference & Major Awards


Offensive Player of the Year

Colleen Kane, Sr., UMass Dartmouth

Defensive Player of the Year

Devyne Doran, Jr., Eastern Connecticut

Midfielder of the Year

Paige Schneider, Jr., Eastern Connecticut

Rookie of the Year

Michelina Pinto, Fr., Eastern Connecticut 

Coach of the Year

Christine Hutchison, 10th season, Eastern Connecticut


First Team


Attack                      Colleen Kane             Sr.        UMass Dartmouth                Arlington, Mass.        

Attack                Michelina Pinto         Fr.      Eastern Connecticut            Groton, Conn.      

Attack                     Kaitlin Nolan             Sr.       Keene State                        Mahopac, N.Y.

Defense                   Devyne Doran           Jr.         Eastern Connecticut             South Kingstown, R.I.

Defense                   Carley Altemose        Jr.         Western Connecticut            Stratford, Conn.

Defense                   Tara Kilderry             So.       Keene State                        Northshore, N.Y.

Midfield                   Paige Schneider        Jr.         Eastern Connecticut             East Lyme, Conn.

Midfield                   Megan Tingley          So.       Plymouth State                    Natick, Mass.

Midfield                   Leah Douty                So.     UMass Dartmouth                 Framingham, Mass.

Midfield                   Maggie Bodington     So.       Eastern Connecticut              Stratford, Conn.

Midfield                   Caroline Vonachen    Jr.        Plymouth State                     Framingham, Mass.  

Goalkeeper              Meg Brault                 Jr.      Plymouth State                     South Windsor, Conn.


Second Team


Attack                      Sarah Pelligrinelli      Sr.        Southern Maine               Southington, Conn.

Attack                      Taylor Graf                 Jr.        Keene State                   Hanover, Mass.

Attack                      Destinee Carey          Jr.        Western Connecticut        New Milford, Conn.

Defense                   Kathryn Gibb             Jr.        UMass Dartmouth            Georgetown, Mass.

Defense                   Sophia Guerriero       So.       Plymouth State               Essex, Mass.

Defense                   Taylor Behn               So.       Eastern Connecticut        Amherst, N.H.

Midfield                   Raquel Heitor             Jr.        Western Connecticut        Danbury, Conn.

Midfield                   Heather Everett        Jr.        Southern Maine                 Waterboro, ME

Midfield                   Olivia Kosilla             So.       Western Connecticut         Ellington, Conn.

Midfield                   Lauren Lessard         Jr.        Southern Maine                 Lewiston, ME

Midfield                   Taylor Farland           So.       Keene State                      Fiskdale, Mass.

Goalkeeper              Taylor Emmerson     Jr.        Eastern Connecticut     Colchester, Conn.