Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2010 All-Little East Women's Lacrosse Teams Released

NORTH DARTMOUTH, Mass. – The Little East Conference announced its annual women’s lacrosse all-conference teams and end of the season award winners this afternoon after a vote by the conference’s seven coaches. The University of Southern Maine takes home three of the five major awards including player of the year senior attack Jessica Knight (Alfred, Maine), rookie of the year goalie Samantha Kiesel (Lakeville, Mass), and coach of the year Lauren Reid. The defensive player of the year is senior midfielder Taylor MacDonald (Oak Bluffs, Mass.) of Eastern Connecticut State University and Rhode Island College was tabbed as the inaugural team sportsmanship award recipient.

The Little East Conference office honors a 12-member first and second all-conference team, consisting of three attackers, five midfielders, three defenders and a goalie. Each Little East team is represented on the 2010 edition of the all-conference teams. Eastern Connecticut led the way with six all-conference selections followed by Western Connecticut State University, Keene State College, Southern Maine and Plymouth State University with four each.

Knight led the Huskies to their first-ever NCAA tournament bid by winning the Little East Conference Tournament Championship this past weekend. The senior from Alfred, Maine successfully defended her 2009 player of the year honor by leading the league in four major offensive categories with 86 points (4.81 per game), 75 goals (4.17 per game), 145 shots (8.06 per game), and free position goals per game (0.89). She netted at least one marker in each of 18 contests, including registering 14 hat tricks. Knight established a new program single-season scoring record (86), putting an additional 15 between the previous record holder. She also matched Southern Maine single-game scoring mark (9) and single-game goals mark (8) against Western Connecticut on May 4. Knight is making her fourth appearance on the all-conference team during her outstanding career with the Huskies.

MacDonald is the first Little East Conference three-time recipient of the top defensive player award. The senior from Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts was second in conference play with 25 draw controls in six games for a 4.17 average. She dominated the starting circle for the Warriors, recording at least four draws eight times on the campaign. MacDonald corralled a season-high nine draws against Babson College in Eastern Connecticut’s season opener. She scooped up at least five ground balls seven times, including a season-best seven against Roger Williams. MacDonald completed her swan song season with 63 ground balls, 71 draw controls, 27 caused turnovers. In addition to her prowess on the defensive side of the field, MacDonald led the Warriors with 69 points, on 32 goals and 37 assists.

Kiesel is the third Southern Maine student-athlete to be named the top rookie in the past four years. The freshman from Lakeville, Mass. sits atop the Little East standings in goals against average (.530) on the strength of 227 saves in 19 games. Kiesel has reached double figures in saves 11 times, including eight contests with at least 14 stops. She recorded a season-high 19 saves against Keene State College on May 1. Inside the conference circuit, Kiesel sports 11.95 save average, which is more than three stops higher than any other Little East goalie. She is the lone freshman on the All-Little East, first-team.

Reid, in just her second year as the Huskies mentor and her first head coaching position, was selected as the conference’s coach of the year, marking the second Southern Maine women’s lacrosse boss to achieve the honor (Sue Frost, 2008). Under her watchful eye, Southern Maine became the first team to run the table from the fifth seed and win the Little East Championship. The Huskies upset three of the top four seeds in the field to earn the Huskies first automatic qualifier into the NCAA Tournament.

Initially formed in 1986 as a six-team men’s and women’s basketball conference, the Little East Conference has since grown to its present eight-school membership, sponsoring championship play in 19 intercollegiate athletics: baseball; men’s and women’s basketball; men’s and women’s cross country; field hockey; men’s and women’s lacrosse; men’s and women’s soccer; softball; women’s swimming and diving; men’s and women’s tennis; men’s and women’s indoor track and field; men’s and women’s outdoor track and field; and women’s volleyball.

2010 Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams
First Team
Brianna Davis Attack Plymouth State University
Jessica Knight Attack University of Southern Maine
Lauren Sawyer Attack Keene State College
Jamie Albert Midfielder Keene State College
Jessica Bouwman Midfielder Western Connecticut State University
Kalie Judd Midfielder Plymouth State University
Kara Kruczkiewicz Midfielder Western Connecticut State University
Taylor MacDonald Midfielder Eastern Connecticut State University
Megan Barrett Defense Eastern Connecticut State University
Jenna Childs Defense Rhode Island College
Lauren Poppe Defense Western Connecticut State University
Samantha Kiesel Goalie University of Southern Maine
Second Team
Nicky Drolet Attack Rhode Island College
Jill Kirk Attack Keene State College
Brooke Wayte Attack Eastern Connecticut State University
Emily Brooks Midfielder Western Connecticut State University
Kerry D'Ambroise Midfielder Plymouth State University
Ashley DelVecchio Midfielder Eastern Connecticut State University
Emily Persano Midfielder Keene State College
Ashley Prizio Midfielder Eastern Connecticut State University
Mary Vaughan Midfielder University of Southern Maine
Brittney Bennett Defense University of Southern Maine
Dana McLaughlin Defense Eastern Connecticut State University
Liz Stapleton Defense University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
Morgan Lemmon Goalie Plymouth State University
Offensive Player of the Year
Jessica Knight Attack University of Southern Maine
Defensive Player of the Year
Taylor MacDonald Midfielder Eastern Connecticut State University
Rookie of the Year
Samantha Kiesel Goalie University of Southern Maine
Coach of the Year
Lauren Reid, University of Southern Maine
Team Sportsmanship Award
Rhode Island College