• Plymouth State Represented at 2009 Women's Lacrosse World Cup
    June 29, 2009
    PLYMOUTH, N.H. – The Plymouth State University women’s lacrosse program was well represented in the recently-completed 2009 Women’s Lacrosse World Cup in Prague, Czech Republic. Two former PSU coaches and the newly named Panther coach were all on hand, participating in the world-class games. Former Panther coaches Wynne Lobel and Abby Burbank served as coaches for the Denmark National Team, and new coach Kristin Blanchette was a player on the Irish National Team.
  • 2009 Little East Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams
    May 05, 2009
    NORTH DARTMOUTH, Mass. – The Little East Conference announced its annual women’s lacrosse all-conference and major award winners this afternoon after a vote by each of the conference’s seven head coaches. University of Southern Maine junior midfielder Jessica Knight (Alfred, Maine) was named the offensive player of the year, while University of Massachusetts Dartmouth freshman attacker Allison O’Rourke (Weymouth, Mass.) was selected as the rookie of the year.
  • Keene State Draws Middlebury In NCAA Tournament
    May 04, 2009
    KEENE, N.H. - Earning its first-ever NCAA Division III Tournament berth, the Keene State women's lacrosse team found out on Sunday night they will travel to Middlebury College on Wednesday for a first-round game against the Panthers. The Owls (12-8) earned the berth with a stunning 9-8 overtime win against Eastern Conn. on Saturday. The Middlebury women's lacrosse team earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament after suffering a 17-12 loss to Colby in a NESCAC semifinal game played at Tufts on Saturday. The winner of the game will advance to an NCAA Regional at Colby.
  • Kirk OT Goals Gives Keene 1st Little East Women's Lacrosse Championship
    May 02, 2009
    MANSFIELD, CONN. 5/2/09 - For the first time in the 12-year history of the Keene State women's lacrosse program, the Owls are headed to the NCAA Division III Championship. Keene State season scoring leader Jill Kirk's (Port Jefferson Station, N.Y.) only goal of the match one minute into overtime gave the second seeded Owls their first Little East Conference tournament championship with a dramatic 9-8 upset win over top seed and two-time defending champion Eastern Conn. State University on Saturday.
  • Albert Breaks Single-Game Scoring Record In Owls OT Loss
    April 07, 2009
    KEENE, N.H. - Keene State sophomore Jamie Albert (Southington, Conn.) matched the number on her jersey, scoring a school record 10 goals in a 19-18 overtime loss to New England College in non-conference women's lacrosse action at rainy Owl Athletic Complex on Monday afternoon. "I started off hot and just kept on going," said Albert. "It would have been nice if we were able to win the game, but it always feels good to help out."
  • MacDonald Lifts Warriors Past Brewers In 3 OTs
    March 18, 2009
    MANSFIELD, Conn. - Junior midfielder Taylor MacDonald (Oak Bluffs, Mass.) made certain that the longest match in Eastern Connecticut State University women's lacrosse history went down in the recordbooks on a positive note with a game-ending sudden-death overtime goal that gave the Warriors an 11-10 win over Vassar College Wednesday afternoon at the Mansfield Outdoor Complex. The match was the first at home this year and resulted in the first victory of the season for Eastern (1-3), which was not facing a nationally-ranked opponent for this first time in 2009.
  • Eastern Connecticut Projected As Women's Lacrosse Preseason Favorite
    March 18, 2009
    NORTH DARTMOUTH, Mass. – Eastern Connecticut State University has been predicted to win the program’s third straight Little East Conference women’s lacrosse regular season championship after each of the conference’s seven coaches casted their vote in the annual preseason poll. The Warriors sit atop the coaches’ survey for the third time in the eight years the Little East has sponsored a preseason poll, earning top honors in 2003 and 2008. Eastern Connecticut received six of the seven first place votes and 55 total points to pace the conference contingent.