Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Gloster Headlines Women's Lacrosse Selections

Gloster Headlines Women's Lacrosse Selections

NORTH DARTMOUTH, Mass. - Eastern Connecticut State University and the University of Southern Maine each earned two of the end of the season awards as the Little East Conference announced the 2008 women's lacrosse all-conference teams this afternoon. The Warriors dynamic midfield duo of Megan Gloster (Agawam, Mass.) and sophomore Taylor MacDonald (Oak Bluffs, Mass.) were named Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively. Huskies freshman midfielder Kristy Kendrick (Waterboro, Maine) was selected the Rookie of the Year, while Sue Frost was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Gloster is the first student-athlete in the program's history to be honored as the Offensive Player of the Year. The Agawam, Mass. product sits atop the conference standings in game-winning goals (4), while ranking third in assists per game (1.59) and sixth in points (3.53). A starter in all 17 games, Gloster paced the Eastern Connecticut squad in points (60) and assists (27), while second in goals (33). She scored multiple points in 15 contests this season, including a season-best seven points at Western Connecticut on April 2.

MacDonald became the second Warrior player to be honored as the top defender in the Little East Conference and first since Kara Bradley '07 earned praise in 2005. She rankings among the conference leaders in draw controls (2nd, 3.88), caused turnovers (3rd, 33), ground balls (3rd, 3.76), and assists (7th, 1.12).  MacDonald won at least two draw controls in 16 of her 17 games on the campaign, including a season-high eight at Western Connecticut on April 2. The 2008 Little East Conference Championship Tournament Most Outstanding Player collected a season-best seven ground balls against the University of Southern Maine on May 3. On the season, she provided a balance scoring attack, netting 20 markers and dishing out 19 helpers. MacDonald was named the 2007 Little East Conference Co-Rookie of the Year.

For the season straight season, the University of Southern Maine boasts the top rookie in the conference circuit. Kendrick completed her first campaign on the pitch leading the Huskies in draw controls (55), while ranking second in points (39) and goals (36). The native of Waterboro, Maine scored a season-high seven markers and collecting a season-best nine draw controls against Keene State College on April 26, while netting six goals at St. Joseph's (Maine) earlier in the season.

Frost led the University of Southern Maine to the 2008 Little East Conference Championship Tournament finals this past weekend, marking the first time in the program's history the Huskies made an appearance in the championship round. She led her charges to an overall record of 8-9, including a 5-1 mark in conference play, to earn the second seed and the right to host a home field game in the Little East Tournament. Frost's five conference victories are even more impressive considering Southern Maine had two or fewer league contests over the past six seasons. She mentored four student-athletes on the all-conference teams, including first-team selection at midfield for Jessica Knight.

Eastern Connecticut State University placed a conference best seven student-athletes on the all-conference teams, while Keene State College and the Huskies earned four selections each. UMass Dartmouth and Rhode Island College each placed three players on the top teams, Plymouth State University and Western Connecticut State University had a lone honoree.

Initially formed in 1986 as a six-team men's and women's basketball conference, the Little East Conference has since grown to its present eight-school membership, sponsoring championship play in 19 intercollegiate athletics: baseball; men's and women's basketball; men's and women's cross country; field hockey; men's and women's lacrosse; men's and women's soccer; softball; women's swimming; men's and women's tennis; men's and women's indoor track; men's and women's outdoor track and women's volleyball.

2008 Little East Women's Lacrosse All-Conference teams

First Team      
Name Position Class Institution
Lily Anderson Attack Senior Eastern Connecticut
Jill Kirk Attack Freshman Keene State College
Brooke Wayte Attack Sophomore Eastern Connecticut
Megan Gloster Midfield Senior Eastern Connecticut
Kalie Judd Midfield Sophomore Plymouth State University
Jessica Knight Midfield Sophomore University of Southern Maine
Kara Kruczkiewicz Midfield Sophomore Western Connecticut
Taylor MacDonald Midfield Sophomore Eastern Connecticut
Marie Spang Midfield Senior UMass Dartmouth
Larissa Basque Defense Freshman UMass Dartmouth
Jackie Bivona Defense Junior Eastern Connecticut
Erica Robertson Defense Sophomore University of Southern Maine
Katie Quartuccio Goalie Senior University of Southern Maine
Second Team      
Caitlin Albert Attack Junior University of Southern Maine
Justene Dorr Attack Senior University of Southern Maine
Michelle Mazzotta Attack Senior Keene State College
Kerry McDevitt Attack Senior Rhode Island College
Sydney Culbertson Midfield Senior Rhode Island College
Caitlin Everin Midfield Senior Western Connecticut
Kristy Kendrick Midfield Freshman University of Southern Maine
Sara Barrett Midfield Junior Eastern Connecticut
Jenny Lillis Midfield Freshman Keene State College
Annie Brown Defense Freshman Keene State College
Erin Duffy Defense Senior Rhode Island College
Meghan Harris Defense Senior Eastern Connecticut
Erin Doherty Goalie Senior UMass Dartmouth



Offensive Player of the Year
Megan Gloster, Midfield, Eastern Connecticut State University

Defensive Player of the Year
Taylor MacDonald, Sophomore, Midfield, Eastern Connecticut State University

Rookie of the Year
Kristy Kendrick, Freshman, Midfield, University of Southern Maine

Coach of the Year
Sue Frost, University of Southern Maine