Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Little East Conference Announces 2018 Men’s Soccer All-Conference Selections

2018 men's soccer all conference

PAWUCKET, R.I. – The 2018 Little East Conference (LEC) men's soccer major awards and all-conference selections were announced Wednesday following a vote of the league's nine head coaches. Western Connecticut senior forward Chauncey Allers (Wilton, Conn.) was named the LEC Offensive Player of the Year, while Eastern Connecticut junior back Nick Starkowski (Marlborough, Conn.) and freshman forward Patrick Agyemang (East Hartford, Conn.) were named LEC Defensive Player of the Year and LEC Rookie of the Year, respectively. Eastern Connecticut's staff was named the LEC Coaching Staff of the Year.

Allers led the LEC in scoring with 22 goals and nine assists for 53 total points during the regular season; his 22 goals were the most in the league, while his nine assists were the second-highest total. WestConn's all-time leading scorer added two more goals as the Colonials captured their second straight LEC tournament title, scoring the game-winner in overtime to beat Castleton in the first round and netting the game-tying goal in the tournament final win over Keene State. He is the first player in program history to earn multiple LEC Offensive Player of the Year awards.

Starkowski led a defense that allowed just 16 goals during the regular season, and only yielded five goals over eight conference matches. He is the seventh player in program history to be named LEC Defensive Player of the Year, the last being Emmanuel Caicedo in 2016.

Agyemang led the Eastern Connecticut in scoring after totaling nine goals and three assists for 21 points in his first collegiate season. He is the fourth player in program history to be named the LEC Rookie of the Year, the most recent being Bradley Fletcher in 2009.

Led by head coach Greg DeVito, the Warriors went 15-3-0 overall and won the LEC regular season title with a near-perfect 7-1-0 ledger in conference play.

The complete list of all-conference selections can be found below.

2018 LEC Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams
Offensive Player of the Year Chauncey Allers Western Connecticut 
Defensive Player of the Year Nick Starkowski Eastern Connecticut
Rookie of the Year Patrick Agyemang Eastern Connecticut
Coaching Staff of the Year Eastern Connecticut  


First Team All-Conference      
Forward Chauncey Allers Sr. Western Connecticut Wilton, Conn.
Forward Seraphin Iradukunda So. Castleton Burlinton, Vt.
Forward Patrick Agyemang Fr. Eastern Connecticut East Hartford, Conn.
Midfield Justin Jensen Jr. Eastern Connecticut Wethersfield, Conn.
Midfield Robert Della Penna Sr. Western Connecticut Suffield, Conn.
Midfield Darion Richme' Sr. Western Connecticut Danbury, Conn.
Midfield Dennis Vazquez Sr. Rhode Island College Providence, R.I.
Defense Nick Starkowski Jr. Eastern Connecticut Marlbotough, Conn.
Defense Yuran Teixeira So. UMass Boston Praia, Cape Verde
Defense Spencer Ranno Jr. Western Connecticut Sherman, Conn.
Defense Jonata Mbongo So. Southern Maine Portand, Maine
Goalkeeper Daniel Szabo So. Western Connecticut Trumbull, Conn.
Second Team All-Conference      
Forward Griffin Luczek Jr. Eastern Connecticut Lee, N.H.
Forward Raffi DeSouza Jr. UMass Boston Watertown, Mass.
Forward Wesley McIntosh Fr. Keene State Bedofrd, N.H.
Midfield Edson Marques Sr. UMass Boston Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Midfield Eric Murakami Sr. UMass Boston São Paulo, Brazil
Midfield Matthew Restrepo So. Western Connecticut Bridgeport, Conn.
Midfield Will Toomey Fr. Eastern Connecticut Willington, Conn.
Defense Isaiah Lovering So. Keene State Henniker, N.H.
Defense Joao Correia Sr. UMass Dartmouth Peabody, Mass.
Defense Dan Shaw Sr. Plymouth State Winchester, England
Defense Brendan D'Arcy So. Eastern Connecticut West Hartford, Conn.
Goalkeeper Omar Castro-Dreher Jr. UMass Boston Woonsocket, R.I.