Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2018 Field Hockey All-Conference Picks Announced by Little East Conference

2018 field hockey all conference

PAWUCKET, R.I. – The 2018 Little East Conference (LEC) field hockey major awards and all-conference selections were announced Thursday following a vote of the league's 13 head coaches. Keene State

Keene State College junior Ally McCall (Watertown, Mass.) and sophomore Nina Bruno (Agawam, Mass.) were took home LEC Defensive Player of the Year and LEC Offensive Player of the Year honors, while University of Southern Maine freshman Samantha Ellis (New Vineyard, Maine) was named LEC Rookie of the Year. Castleton University head coach Christine Kemp was named LEC Coach of the Year.

Bruno leads the LEC in scoring with 74 points in 2018, and leads the league in goals scored for the second straight season with 32 through the Owls' NCAA tournament win over SUNY New Paltz. Those totals are the second most in a single-season in program history. The 2017 LEC Rookie of the Year already ranks in the top-10 on Keene State's career goals (sixth, 55) and points (seventh, 125) lists.

McCall led a defense that limited its 12 conference opponents to 22 goals, while finishing fourth on the team in scoring with three goals and a LEC-best 14 assists for 20 points. Her two-way play helped lead the Owls to their sixth consecutive LEC tournament championship and NCAA second round appearance.

Ellis led the Huskies in scoring, totaling 11 goals and five assists for 27 points in her first collegiate season. Her 11 goals are tied for 12th in the LEC, while her 27 points are tied for 13th in the league. Ellis' 11th goal of the year gave Southern Maine a 2-1 double-overtime win over Fitchburg State in the first round of the LEC tournament. 

Kemp guided the Spartans to one of their most successful seasons in program history after the team was picked to 11th in the LEC's preseason coaches' poll. The first-year head coach led Castleton to an overall record of 15-5 and the 2018 LEC regular season championship after the Spartans went 11-1 in league play. The 15 wins are the second-most in program history. Castleton advanced to the LEC tournament final, falling in a one-goal game to Keene State.

The full listing of all-conference selections is as follows:

2018 LEC Field Hockey All-Conference Teams
Offensive Player of the Year Nina Bruno Keene State
Defensive Player of the Year Ally McCall Keene State
Rookie of the Year Samantha Ellis Southern Maine
Coach of the Year Christine Kemp Castleton


First Team All-Conference      
Forward Michaila Parent Sr. Worcester State Westborough, Mass.
Forward Nina Bruno So. Keene State Agawam, Mass.
Forward Sarah Wells Sr. Castleton Bellows Falls, Vt.
Forward Kayla Klein So. Keene State West Brookfield, Mass.
Midfield Samantha Hayes Sr. Bridgewater State Norwood, Mass.
Midfield Erica Stauffer Sr. Keene State Cheshire, Conn.
Midfield Gabriella Hunt So. Castleton Granville, N.Y.
Defense Ally McCall Jr. Keene State Waterown, Mass.
Defense Ellie Gevry Jr. Castleton New Haven, Conn.
Defense Coley Hayes So. Worcester State Norwood, Mass.
Goalkeeper Neve Manion So. Western Connecticut Newington, Conn.
Second Team All-Conference      
Forward Olivia Antonelli Jr. Worcester State Westford, Mass.
Forward Morgan Matthews Jr. Western Connecticut Bethel, Conn.
Forward Kimberly Brower So. Western Connecticut Mahopac, N.Y.
Forward Samantha Ellis Fr. Southern Maine New Vineyard, Maine
Midfield Rachel Hopkins So. Worcester State Chelmsford, Mass.
Midfield Molly Richard Sr. Fitchburg State Leominster, Mass.
Midfield Allie Noteware Jr. Western Connecticut New Milford, Conn.
Defense Lili Dickey Jr. Western Connecticut Westbrook, Conn.
Defense Makayla Garvin Jr. Southern Maine Springvale, Maine
Defense Patty Newhard Sr. Plymouth State South Dennis, Mass.
Goalkeeper Allison Chappell Sr. Bridgewater State Raynham, Mass.
Honorable Mention      
Forward Julia Babbitt Sr. Keene State Haddam, Conn.
Forward Loretta Blakeney So. Castleton Barnard, Vt.
Forward Haley Wakefield So. Plymouth State South Paris, Maine
Forward Morgan Sanson Jr. Eastern Connecticut Thomason, Conn.
Midfield Aislinn DeHorsey Jr. Fitchburg State Leominster, Mass.
Midfield Mia Brickley Sr. Keene State Holderness, N.H.
Midfield Abbie Staples Jr. Southern Maine Alfred, Maine
Defense Katherine McKenna Gr. Bridgewater State Wilmington, Mass.
Defense Hailey Beaupre Jr. Keene State Dayville, Conn.
Defense Stephanie Hogan Sr. Eastern Connecticut Northford, Conn.
Goalkeeper Jess Hopkins Fr. Worcester State Chelmsford, Mass.