Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

LEC Announces 2017 Baseball All-Conference Teams

LEC Announces 2017 Baseball All-Conference Teams

PAWTUCKET, R.I. – The Little East Conference announced its 2017 Baseball All-Conference Teams and Major Awards as voted on by the eight LEC head coaches. The Southern Maine Huskies edged out UMass Boston to claim the 2017 Little East Conference regular season championship by one game, the program's 12th LEC regular season title and sixth straight. 

Eastern Connecticut State's senior outfielder, Alex Zachary (Enfield, Conn.) was named the 2017 LEC Player of the Year. Zachary finished inside the top-3 in all of the major offensive categories during the 2017 season. Zachary hit both for power and for contact as he led the LEC with nine home runs and placed second in the conference with a .404 batting average on 61 base hits. Zachary produced all season for the Warriors at the plate, finishing the year with 42 runs batted in and Zachary also scored 42 runs and added 25 stolen bases. The all-around performance by Zachary in 2017 also earned him All-LEC First Team honors as an outfielder. Defensively, Zachary accumulated 95 putouts with three assists while only committing two errors in 37 games played for Eastern Connecticut State. Zachary also added 14 doubles with a .702 slugging percentage and a .477 on-base percentage. 

Keene State College returned to the LEC postseason after a three-year absence and was led by the 2017 LEC Pitcher of the Year, senior Michael Crimi (Bethel, Conn.). Crimi, the Keene State ace, finished the year with a league leading 72 strikeouts and 79 innings pitched. Crimi averaged 8.20 strikeouts per nine innings pitched and allowed 22 earned runs and gave up only one home run all season long. Crimi dominated on the mound all season long for the Owls, allowing 57 hits and an earned-run average of 2.51, which was third best in the Little East. Crimi finished tied with UMass Boston's Matt Tulley for the league lead in wins (7) and was the league leader with three complete games. This is the second consecutive season a starting pitcher from Keene State has won the LEC Pitcher of the Year Award (Cody Dube '16). 


Southern Maine's freshman Dylan Hapworth was named the 2017 LEC Rookie of the Year, becoming the first Huskies' student-athlete to win the honor since Sam Dexter and Paul McDonough won the honor in back-to-back years in 2013 and 2014, respectively. The top freshmen, Hapworth finished first among all Little East members with 43 runs scored and a .735 slugging percentage and nine home runs for the 2017 LEC regular season Southern Maine Huskies. Hapworth finished tied for second with a .404 batting average as he collected 55 hits, 12 doubles, 3 triples and drove in 38 RBIs while collecting 100 total bases during his rookie campaign. Hapworth also accumulated a .475 on-base percentage, walking 14 times and striking out 34 times (10th best).

For the ninth time in his career, Southern Maine's head coach Ed Flaherty was named the 2017 LEC Coach of the Year by his peers. Coach Flaherty led the Huskies to a 12-2 LEC record and has the Huskies ranked 20th in the nation and the top ranked baseball in the New England region. Coach Flaherty also had the home field at Southern Maine dedicated in his honor on April 30th along with the 20th anniversary celebration of his 1997 NCAA Division III National Championship. 

2017 Little East Conference Softball 

Player of the Year

Alex Zachary, Senior, Eastern Connecticut State

Pitcher of the Year

Michael Crimi, Senior, Keene State 

Rookie of the Year

Dylan Hapworth, Freshman, Southern Maine 

Coach of the Year

Ed Flaherty, 32nd season, Southern Maine 


All-Little East First Team

Pitcher                         Michael Crimi             Sr.        Keene State

Pitcher                         Dalton Rice                 So.       Southern Maine

Catcher                        Cam Ruziak                 Jr.        Plymouth State

First Base                    Chris Fowler                Jr.        UMass Boston

Second Base               Jake Dexter                 So.       Southern Maine

Third Base                   Alex Parkos                 So.       Eastern Connecticut

Shortstop                    EJ Lavoie                     Sr.        Western Connecticut

Outfield                       Alex Zachary               Sr.        Eastern Connecticut

Outfield                       Dylan Hapworth          Fr.        Southern Maine         

Outfield                       Connor Longley           So.       Keene State                           

Designated Hitter       Dan Mantoni               Sr.        UMass Boston

Relief Pitcher              Jake Dexter                 So.       Southern Maine


All-Little East Second Team

Pitcher                         Matt Tulley                 Sr.        UMass Boston

Pitcher                         Sean Callahan             Sr.        UMass Dartmouth

Catcher                        Anthony Searles          Sr.        UMass Boston

First Base                    Taylor Cacciola            Sr.        UMass Dartmouth

Second Base               Josh Lopez                   Jr.        UMass Boston

Third Base                   Kyle Boudrias              So.       UMass Boston

Shortstop                    Erick Ramirez              So.       UMass Dartmouth

Outfield                       Zach Quintal               So.       Southern Maine

Outfield                       Ezequiel Sanchez        Sr.        UMass Dartmouth

Outfield                       Ryan Richard               So.       Plymouth State                      

Designated Hitter       John Tarascio              So.       Keene State   

Relief Pitcher              Bobby Tramondozzi    So.       UMass Boston