2010 All-Little East Baseball Teams Announced

NORTH DARTMOUTH, Mass. – The Little East Conference office released its annual baseball all-conference teams and end of the season awards this afternoon after a vote by each of the conference coaches. Keene State College junior outfielder Bobby Doyon (Keene, N.H.) was named the Player of the Year, while University of Massachusetts Boston sophomore James Dalton (Apopka, Fla.) was selected as the Pitcher of the Year. University of Southern Maine freshman infielder John Carey (South Portland, Maine) was awarded Rookie of the Year honors. The University of Massachusetts Dartmouth collected the final two major awards as Bob Curran was tabbed Coach of the Year and the Corsairs earned the inaugural team sportsmanship award. 

Doyon is just the second Owls’ student-athlete to be named the top player in the conference. The three-time All-Little East, first-team selection as an outfielder ranked among the conference leaders in nearly every offensive statistical category, including sitting atop the Little East standings in home runs (10), slugging percentage (.708), and total bases (121). A starter in all 41 games, the Keene, N.H. product recorded a .421 batting average (72-for-171) to eclipse the .400 mark for the third consecutive season. Doyon hit safely in 37 contests this spring, including two separate 15-game hitting streaks. He paced Keene State in runs batted in with 51, including driving in multiple runs 19 times on the campaign. On May 1, Doyon turned in a season-high six RBI against Southern Maine with a 3-for-4 performance at the dish. He also contributed in the field with 90 put outs in 92 chances for a .979 fielding percentage. Doyon and the rest of the 2010 Owls earned the fifth-seed in the NCAA Division III Auburn, N.Y. Regional.

Dalton is the second Beacons player in program history to be selected as the top pitcher in the conference, joining Nick Conway (2006, ‘08). The native of Apopka, Fla. led the Little East in earned run average (2.38), innings pitched (68), and wins (7), while ranking second in strikeouts (59). The All-Little East, first-team honoree recorded a quality start in six of his nine appearances on the campaign, including closing the season with five straight. Dalton established a new UMass Boston program record for complete-game shutouts, earning his third and final against Rhode Island College in the first round of the Little East Championship. He registered at least six strikeouts seven times this spring, including a season-high nine against UMass Dartmouth on April 18. Dalton is currently riding a seven-game win streak into the NCAA Tournament, where the Beacons earned the seventh seed.

Carey is the fourth student-athlete in the Huskies’ program history to be tabbed as the top rookie in the Little East. The freshman from South Portland, Maine made an immediate impact in Southern Maine’s lineup, earning a start in 43 of his 44 appearances. Carey posted a .330 batting average (58-for-176) with five home runs and 35 runs batted in. The mainstay at second base registered 11 extra base hits and 96 total bases for a .449 slugging percentage. He hit safely in 32 contests, including 20 games with multiple base knocks. Carey launched his first collegiate home run against Albertus Magnus to lead the Huskies to a 15-4 victory. He matched his single season-high in hits (3) five times during the spring, while recording a collegiate-best four RBI against Plymouth State. Carey was named the Little East Rookie of the Week once during the season.

Curran guided the Corsairs to an overall record of 20-19, marking the first time UMass Dartmouth has reached the 20-win plateau since 2004. The Corsairs earned the fifth seed in the annual Little East Championship after posting a 7-7 mark in the conference circuit. UMass Dartmouth used a strong spring break trip to Florida (6-3) to springboard the Corsairs to victories in 12 of their first 17 games. Curran led his charges to a pair of five-game winning streaks. Junior designated hitter Zak Talis (Lynnfield, Mass.) powered the UMass Dartmouth attack with a .443 batting average (62-for-140) and a conference-high 59 RBI. The freshman pitching tandem of Karney Boff (Dighton, Mass.) and Aaron Brunette (North Andover, Mass.) have set the foundation for a formidable 1-2 punch in conference contests for next few seasons.

Initially formed in 1986 as a six-team men's and women's basketball conference, the Little East Conference sponsored its 24th season in 2009-2010. Western Connecticut State University joined the conference in 1993-1994, while Keene State College raised its current membership to eight teams in 1997-1998.

2010 All-Little East Baseball Teams
First Team
Position Name Institution
Designated Hitter Zak Talis University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
Catcher Tim Fontaine University of Massachusetts Boston
First Base Mike Eaton University of Southern Maine
Second Base Ryan Walsh University of Massachusetts Boston
Shortstop Anthony Pisani University of Southern Maine
Third Base Melvin Castillo Eastern Connecticut State University
Outfield Bobby Doyon Keene State College
Outfield Jim Schult Eastern Connecticut State University
Outfield Andrew Tambling University of Massachusetts Boston
Pitcher James Dalton University of Massachusetts Boston
Pitcher Gary Levesque Rhode Island College
Relief Pitcher Corey Vogt Keene State College
Second Team
Designated Hitter Collin Henry University of Southern Maine
Catcher Anthony Cipolla Keene State College
First Base Tyler DiPrato Keene State College
Second Base John Parke Eastern Connecticut State University
Shortstop Travis Bass Eastern Connecticut State University
Third Base J.P. Stone Rhode Island College
Outfield Mark McCormack University of Massachusetts Boston
Outfield Keith Patnode Keene State College
Outfield Jared Rossi Rhode Island College
Outfield Chris Thomson Eastern Connecticut State University
Pitcher Matt Fontaine Eastern Connecticut State University
Pitcher Jim Schult Eastern Connecticut State University
Relief Pitcher Brian Pedrotti University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
Player of the Year
Bobby Doyon, Keene State College
Pitcher of the Year
James Dalton, University of Massachusetts Boston
Rookie of the Year
John Carey, University of Southern Maine
Coach of the Year
Bob Curran, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
Team Sportsmanship Award
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth