Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

14 Little East Players Selected To All-NEIBA Teams

NORTH DARTMOUTH, Mass. -- For the fifth straight season, the Little East Conference reached double figures in selections to the New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA) Division III All-New England Teams. The Little East led all New England conference's with 14 honorees, including 13 on the top-two teams. 

The NEIBA honored 52 players and 26 New England institutions on the top-three teams. The University of Massachusetts Boston paced the conference with five selections, Eastern Connecticut State University was just one off the lead. The University of Southern Maine had three honorees, while Keene State College and Rhode Island College each had one representative.

2010 All-New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association Teams
First Team
Position Name Institution
Catcher Tim Fontaine University of Massachusetts Boston
First Base Joe Griglun Western New England College
Second Base Ryan Walsh University of Massachusetts Boston
Shortstop Anthony Pisani University of Southern Maine
Third Base Jonathan Melendez Johnson & Wales University
Outfield Bobby Doyon Keene State College
Outfield Todd Keneborus St. Joseph's College (Maine)
Outfield Al Matthews Williams College
Outfield James Wood Trinity College (Conn.)
Designated Hitter Corey MacDonald Worcester State College
Utility Jim Schult Eastern Connecticut State University
Pitcher Chris DeGoti Tufts University
Pitcher James Dalton University of Massachusetts Boston
Pitcher Nolan Corr Wheaton College (Mass.)
Pitcher Jon Shepard Wheaton College (Mass.)
Second Team
Catcher Brad Hawn Curry College
First Base Mike Eaton University of Southern Maine
Second Base John Parke Eastern Connecticut State University
Second Base Frank Petroskey Tufts University
Shortstop Alex Melcher Salve Regina University
Third Base Dan Haugh Wheaton College (Mass.)
Third Base Melvin Castillo Eastern Connecticut State University
Outfield Tim Sweeney Curry College
Outfield Jeff Scafidi Anna Maria College
Outfield Drew Tambling University of Massachusetts Boston
Outfield Mark McCormack University of Massachusetts Boston
Designated Hitter Colin Henry University of Southern Maine
Utility Gary Levesque Rhode Island College
Pitcher Sam Murray St. Joseph's College (Maine)
Pitcher Ken Cook Castleton State College
Pitcher Kevin Hayes Worcester State College
Pitcher Mike Lawlor Western New England College
Pitcher Matt Rogers Western New England College
Third Team
Catcher Mike Samela Amherst College
Catcher Jason Leclerc Western New England College
First Base Noah Lynd Bates College
Second Base Ryan Zielinski Castleton State College
Shortstop Ethan Guerette Husson University
Shortstop Travis Bass Eastern Connecticut State University
Third Base Sam Sager Tufts University
Outfield Jeff Fields Westfield State College
Outfield Julian Sonnenfeld Wesleyan University (Conn.)
Outfield Darrik Marstaller Daniel Webster College
Outfield Brendan Garner Bowdoin College
Outfield Matt Sullivan Trinity College (Conn.)
Designated Hitter Kevin Lyons Westfield State College
Utility Pat Moran St. Joseph's College (Maine)
Pitcher Ryan Arsenault Husson University
Pitcher Tyler Vieira Coast Guard Academy
Pitcher Cory Moore Curry College
Pitcher Jeremy Chapman Mitchell College
Pitcher Kevin Jefferis Western New England College
Player of the Year
James Wood, Senior, Trinity College (Conn.)
Co-Pitchers of the Year
Chris DeGoti, Sophomore, Tufts University (Mass.)
Nolan Corr, Sophomore, Wheaton College (Mass.)
Coach of the Year
John Casey, Tufts University (Mass.)