Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Little East Conference Governance

Mission Statement

The Little East Conference is committed to athletic excellence in support of the missions of our member institutions and guiding principles of NCAA Division III. The Little East Conference serves as a thought leader for the holistic wellbeing of our student-athletes, coaches and administrators. The Little East Conference champions access to opportunity and an intentionally diverse, equitable and inclusive culture. The Little East Conference promotes fairness and equity through thoughtful governance, competitive integrity and respectful contest environments. The Little East Conference leverages technological innovations to celebrate the achievements of our membership and the goodwill of intercollegiate athletics. 

Vision Statement 

The Little East Conference defines success as being a regional and national leader in preparing student-athletes to be engaged scholars, competitive athletes, and socially responsible citizens who are valued members of their communities. Our student-centered conference supports our member institutions’ missions, and attracts individuals who will strive for success academically, athletically and personally, leading to a lifetime commitment to learning and wellness. PDF   

Governing Documents

Governance Councils


Title (2017-19 Term)
Dr. Frank Sánchez, Rhode Island College Chair, Presidents Council
Dr. Robert Johnson, UMass Dartmouth Chair-Elect, Presidents Council
Don Tencher, Rhode Island College Chair, Athletic Directors Council Executive Committee
Amanda Van Voorhis, UMass Dartmouth Chair-Elect, Athletic Directors Council Executive Committee
Lori Runksmeier, Eastern Connecticut State University Past-Chair, Athletic Directors Council Executive Committee
Amanda Van Voorhis, UMass Dartmouth Treasurer


Sport Liaisons


Name, Title


Baseball Don Tencher, Athletic Director Rhode Island College
Men's/Women's Basketball Jo-Ann D'Alessandro, Associate Athletic Director Rhode Island College  
Cross Country/Track & Field Jack Holleran, Associate Athletic Director

UMass Dartmouth

Field Hockey Deanna Tyson, Athletic Director Castleton
Men's/Women's Lacrosse Lori Runksmeier, Athletic Director Eastern Connecticut
Men's/Women's Soccer Lori Mazza, Athletic Director Western Connecticut
Softball Cynthia Washburne, Associate Athletic Director Eastern Connecticut
Swimming & Diving Amanda Van Voorhis, Athletic Director UMass Dartmouth
Men's/Women's Tennis Kim Bownes, Athletic Director Plymouth State
Volleyball Courtney O'Clair, Associate Athletic Director Plymouth State  
Athletic Training/Sports Medicine Cynthia Washburne, Associate Athletic Director Eastern Connecticut
Student Athlete Advisory Committee Al Bean, Athletic Dorector Southern Maine

Last Updated July 1, 2019