Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Castleton Earns 2018-19 Little East Conference Presidents’ Cup

Little East Conference Presidents Cup

Castleton University Release

PAWTUCKET, R.I. (June 24, 2019) – Castleton University, which just completed its first season as a Little East Conference (LEC), has earned the LEC Presidents' Cup after recording a 3.26 cumulative grade point average (GPA) for the 2018-19 academic year among its 18 programs that compete in the LEC.

The LEC Presidents' Cup measures the highest cumulative grade point average of all institutions in the conference. Each institution calculates the cumulative grade point average for all of its student-athletes that compete in the league's 19 championship-sponsored sports.

"We are thrilled to see our Spartans honored with the Little East Conference President's Cup!" said Castleton President, Dr. Karen M. Scolforo. "I could not be more proud of our student athletes, and our coaches and administrators who continue to value academic success as the highest priority at Castleton. Our Spartans enjoy the support and expertise of our impressive faculty, and, with the guidance of our Castleton community, they embody The Castleton Way in their sports and in the classroom. I fully expect that these student-athletes—these amazing student leaders and role models—will be in the running to claim this award every year!"

"We are proud of the way our student-athletes carry themselves both on the field and in the classroom," added Castleton Associate Dean for Athletics and Recreation, Deanna Tyson. "The commitment to academics that our student-athletes, coaches and professors have ensures that each and every student-athlete gets the true Division III experience and becomes better prepared for a career after graduation."

Castleton had 14 of its 18 LEC programs post a GPA of 3.0 or better, 11 of which had a GPA of at least 3.20 and six of which were above 3.40. The Spartans' women's cross country program led the way with a 3.73 GPA, with their softball (3.52), field hockey (3.49), men's tennis (3.47), women's volleyball (3.42) and women's lacrosse (3.41) teams all achieving a GPA in excess of 3.40.

"I congratulate the scholar-athletes of Castleton University for earning the coveted Presidents' Cup, the LEC's highest academic award, in addition to the field hockey regular season championship in their inaugural year of membership", said LEC Commissioner Cora H.L. Brumley. "This prestigious award clearly demonstrates both intercollegiate athletics' ability to enhance the academic mission of our member institutions and Castleton's fit within in the LEC. The Spartans' administration and coaches are to be commended for their role in facilitating their student-athletes' achievements."

Castleton is the fifth institution to win the LEC Presidents' Cup, which was first awarded following the 2009-10 academic year, joining Eastern Connecticut State University (2009-10, 2014-17), Keene State College (2010-13), UMass Dartmouth (2013-14) and Plymouth State (2017-18).

2018-19 LEC President's Cup Standings
Castleton – 3.26
Plymouth State – 3.20
Eastern Connecticut – 3.16
Southern Maine – 3.11
Keene State – 3.03
Rhode Island College – 3:01
UMass Boston – 3.00
UMass Dartmouth – 2.99
Western Connecticut – 2.94

About the Little East Conference
The Little East Conference (LEC) was formed in 1986 when six public institutions gathered to create a single sport athletic conference and has expanded into what is now New England's premier athletic conference for public institutions in NCAA Division III. The LEC features 19 championship sports and sponsors quality competition in every season for our student-athletes, while following the Division III mission of passion, responsibility, sportsmanship and citizenship. The Little East consists of nine primary institutions that encompass all six New England states – Castleton University (Vt.), Eastern Connecticut State University, Keene State College (N.H.), UMass Boston, UMass Dartmouth, Plymouth State University (N.H.), Rhode Island College, University of Southern Maine, and Western Connecticut State University.