2011 All-Little East Women's Soccer Teams Announced

2011 All-Little East Women's Soccer Teams Announced

NORTH DARTMOUTH, Mass. – The Keene State College women's soccer team earned two of the five major awards this afternoon, when the All-Little East teams were announced this afternoon. Senior goalkeeper Megan Dempsey (East Weymouth, Mass.) was named as the Defensive Player of the Year, while Denise Lyons was selected by her peers as the Coach of the Year. Eastern Connecticut State University junior forward Daniela Marchitto (Orange, Conn.) was honored as the Offensive Player of the Year, while University of Massachusetts Boston freshman forward Krista Ledin (Bridgewater, Mass.) was selected as the Rookie of the Year. University of Southern Maine concluded the major award program as the Team Sportsmanship Award recipients.

In addition to the major awards program, the Little East honored 25 student-athletes on its all-conference teams. The top team was comprised of 12 players, while the second squad was represented by 13 student-athletes.

Marchitto is the sixth Warrior in program history to earn the prestigious top offensive player award and first since Sarah Swann was selected in 2009. The junior from Orange, Conn. is also making her third appearance on the All-Little East teams and second as a first-team selection. Marchitto was the offensive catalyst for the conference's second-ranking scoring offense. She was one of the top play-makers in the conference circuit, leading the Little East in assists with seven. She also ranked among the Little East leaders in points (2nd, 37), goals (2nd, 15) and game-winning goals (2nd, 4). A consistent scorer, Marchitto found the back of the net in 12 of her 20 matches. The 2009 Little East Rookie of the Year penned at least one point in her ledger in six of her seven matches against conference opponents, including a pair of five-point performances against Rhode Island College and UMass Dartmouth. Marchitto also had the knack for recording the game-winner against Little East opponents, delivering the decisive goal against Plymouth State, Western Connecticut, and the Anchorwomen. She represented Eastern Connecticut as the top offensive performer of the week once on the campaign.

Dempsey is making her second career appearance on the All-Little East, first-team as the top keeper selection. The East Weymouth, Mass. product is just the second Owl to be honored as the top defensive player in the conference circuit and first since Elizabeth Vachon earned the award in 2002 and 2004. Dempsey ranked among the Little East leaders in shutouts (2nd, 9), goals against average (3rd, 1.03), save percentage (3rd, .818), and saves (4th, 4.50 per game). A starter in all 22 matches, she backstopped Keene State to a 13-7-2 overall record and the regular-season title. Dempsey allowed one or fewer goals in 16 matches, including holding six conference opponents scoreless. She boasted a season-high scoreless streak of 353 minutes, and five seasons during the span of six matches between Sept 14 and Sept. 27. Dempsey made a season-best eight stops twice on the campaign, most recently against nationally-ranked Middlebury. She was named the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division III New England Defensive Player of the Week for her performance during the week ending Sept. 26.

Ledin is the third Beacon in the past four seasons to be selected as the Little East Rookie of the Year. The freshman striker from Bridgewater, Mass. also earned a spot on the All-Little East, first-team. Ledin established a new UMass Boston women's soccer standard for single-season points (44), and matched the record for single-season goals (20) and single-season game-winning goals (6). She ranked among the national leaders in total goals (13th, 20), goals per game (33rd, 0.952), and points per game (47th, 2.10). A starter in 14 of her 21 matches, Ledin recorded at least one point in 13 contests. She turned in a two-goal performance in her collegiate debut at Western New England, including scoring the game-winner. Ledin registered three hat tricks on the campaign, all coming against Little East opponents. She produced a season-high seven points, on three markers and an assist, against Rhode Island College on Sept. 27. Ledin was recognized by the conference's weekly awards program three times on the season.

Lyons guided Keene State College to the program's second Little East regular-season crown in the past three years. She is making her fifth appearance as the top coach in the conference circuit and first since 2002. The Owls were just the fourth Little East squad to post an undefeated 7-0 mark in conference play. Keene State earned the top seed in the Little East Women's Soccer Championship and hosted the semifinal and championship rounds. The Owls advanced on penalty kicks (3-1) against UMass Boston to reach the championship round for the 10th time in program history. Keene State recently earned the No. 2 seed in the 2011 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division III New England Championship.

Formed in 1986, the Little East serves as New England's premier athletic conference for public institutions in NCAA Division III. Featuring 19 championship sports, the Little East sponsors quality competition in every season for our student athletes. Our eight state colleges and universities dedicate themselves to an ongoing fulfillment of the Division III mission of passion, responsibility, sportsmanship, and citizenship.

2011 All-Little East Women's Soccer Teams
First Team
Name Position Class Institution
Jessica Berthiaume Forward Sophomore Keene State College
Krista Ledin  Forward Freshman University of Massachusetts Boston
Daniela Marchitto Forward Junior Eastern Connecticut State University
Brittany Croteau Midfield Junior Keene State College
Kristin Mulry Midfield Senior University of Massachusetts Boston
Sammi Jo Saltalamacchia Midfield Senior Plymouth State University
Kelly Wallace Midfield Junior Eastern Connecticut State University
Melissa Dempsey Back Senior Keene State College
Cecelia Dias Back Junior Western Connecticut State University
Amber Petrizzo Back Senior Eastern Connecticut State University
Samantha Place Back Senior University of Massachusetts Boston
Megan Dempsey Goalkeeper Senior Keene State College
Second Team
Jillian Duran Forward Senior Western Connecticut State University
Lauren Francisco Forward Senior Western Connecticut State University
Erica Jonasson Forward Sophomore University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
Ariana D'Aurio Midfield Sophomore Western Connecticut State University
Sia Karamourtopolous Midfield Senior Keene State College
Tamar Merheb Midfield Sophomore Eastern Connecticut State University
Tracy Sales Midfield Junior Western Connecticut State University
Kelsie Bailey Back Sophomore Keene State College
Erin Griffin Back Junior Keene State College
Alli Modzelewski Back Sophomore University of Massachusetts Boston
Erika Moran Back Junior Western Connecticut State University
Katie Wolfe Back Junior Western Connecticut State University
Caitlin Avery Goalkeeper Junior Western Connecticut State University
Offensive Player of the Year
Daniela Marchitto, Eastern Connecticut State University
Defensive Player of the Year
Megan Dempsey, Keene State College
Rookie of the Year
Krista Ledin, University of Massachusetts Boston
Coach of the Year
Denise Lyons, Keene State College
Team Sportsmanship Award
University of Southern Maine