Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

LEC Announces 2017 Men’s Tennis All-Conference Teams

LEC Announces 2017 Men’s Tennis All-Conference Teams

PAWTUCKET, R.I. – The Little East Conference announced its 2017 Men's Tennis Major Awards and All-Conference Teams on Tuesday, May 9, 2017 as voted on by the league's seven head coaches. Kyle Curley (Gorham, ME) from the University of Southern Maine was named the Little East Conference Men's Tennis Player of the Year and also picked up All-LEC First Team honors for both Singles and Doubles action. 

Curley, competing as the No. 1 seed, finished with an overall record of 6-2 and was undefeated in LEC singles competition this season. Curley partnered with Samuel Holland (Falmouth, ME) and combined for a 6-2 overall record as the Huskies' No. 1 seeded doubles team and posted an undefeated 5-0 doubles record against LEC opponents. The duo's success also earned them All-LEC First Team Doubles honors.

UMass Boston freshman Alexander Comerchero (Brookline, Mass.) was named LEC Men's Tennis Rookie of the Year. With Comerchero earning the LEC's top rookie honors, it becomes the third straight season a member of the Beacons' men's tennis program has won the LEC Rookie of the Year award (DeLasse '15 and Bhasin '16). Comerchero finished his campaign with an 8-6 overall record (5-0 LEC) as the Beacons' No.3 Singles player and won seven of the last eight singles matches of the 2017 season. Comerchero also earned All-LEC First Team Doubles with partner Austin DeLasse (Mexico City, Mexico) after ending the year with a 7-4 record at No.1 Doubles.

UMass Boston head coach Eric Berg was named 2017 LEC Coach of the Year as voted on by his peers. Berg is in his 11th season at the helm of the Beacons' tennis program and guided the 2017 Beacons to an undefeated LEC regular season and claimed the program's first tournament championship since 2013.

Joining Curley as All-LEC First Team Singles selections are Salem State's Chen Chen (Lawrence, Mass.), Bridgewater State's Chris Jastrab (Chicago, Ill.) and Matt McGee (Warren, R.I.), Western Connecticut State's Aaron Campos (Ridgefield, Conn.) and UMass Boston's DeLasse.

The All-LEC First Team Doubles selections are the pairs of Curley/Holland from Southern Maine, McGee/Jastrab from Bridgewater State and Comerchero/DeLasse from UMass Boston.

The All-LEC Second Team Singles performers for the 2017 men's tennis season are Southern Maine's Sam Holland, Salem State's Mitchell Dyer (North Attleboro, Mass.), Western Connecticut's Jason Hipona (Orange, Conn.), Rhode Island College's Matt Gambardella (West Warwick, R.I.) and UMass Boston's Comerchero and Sanshrut Sharma (Mumbai, India).

The All-LEC Second Team Double pairs are Salem State's Chen/Dyer, UMass Boston's Josh Bhasin (Tulsa, Okla.)/Tin Tran (Quincy, Mass.) and Rhode Island College's pair of Chandler Scott (Ashaway, R.I.) and Cory Duquette (Warwick, R.I.).  


2017 Little East Conference Men's Tennis 

Player of the Year

Kyle Curley, Senior, Southern Maine 

Rookie of the Year

Alexander Comerchero, Freshman, UMass Boston

Coach of the Year

Eric Berg, 11th season, UMass Boston


All-Little East First Team

Singles            Kyle Curley                              Sr.                                Southern Maine

Singles            Chen Chen                               So.                               Salem State

Singles            Chris Jastrab                           Sr.                                Bridgewater State

Singles            Matt McGee                           Sr.                                Bridgewater State

Singles            Aaron Campos                        Fr.                                Western Connecticut

Singles            Austin DeLasse                       Jr.                                UMass Boston


Doubles           Kyle Curley/Samuel Holland                                       Southern Maine

Doubles           Matt McGee/Chris Jastrab                                         Bridgewater State

Doubles           Alexander Comerchero/Austin DeLasse                     UMass Boston


All-Little East Second Team

Singles            Samuel Holland                      Jr.                                Southern Maine

Singles            Mitchell Dyer                          Fr.                                Salem State

Singles            Jason Hipona                           Sr.                                Western Connecticut

Singles            Alexander Comerchero           Fr.                                UMass Boston

Singles            Matt Gambardella                  So.                               Rhode Island College

Singles            Sanshrut Sharma                    Jr.                                UMass Boston


Doubles           Chen Chen/Mitchell Dyer                                            Salem State

Doubles           Josh Bhasin/Tin Tran                                                  UMass Boston

Doubles           Chandler Scott/Cory Duquette                                    Rhode Island College